Kaya, Cebu keep 1-2 spots in PFL title chase

There was no movement in the Philippines Football League (PFL) title race after Kaya-Iloilo and Dynamic Herb Cebu survived upset scares from different opponents over the weekend.

Kaya downed the Azkals Development Team (ADT), 3-1, at Rizal Memorial Stadium, while Cebu squeaked past tailender Maharlika-Manila, 2-1, at McKinley Hill Stadium in Taguig City to keep an eight-point gap in the chase for the league crown.

Both clubs had to regroup after conceding the opening goals in the first half to each come away with the maximum three points.

Jarvey Gayoso and Arnel Amita scored in the second half to put Kaya at 42 points despite being stunned by ADT’s opening goal courtesy of Andres Aldeguer, son of former cager Dino Aldeguer, 10 minutes after kickoff.

ADT tried to double the lead, but Dennis Chung’s attempt was saved by Kaya keeper Zach Banzon, which opened the door for Audie Menzi to produce the equalizer in the 29th minute.

The defeat kept ADT, coached by Stephan Schrock, in fourth spot with 21 points.

Cebu also had to work its way back after Maharlika took the lead in the first half on a goal from veteran David Basa off a set piece.

Midfielder Daniel Gadia came through with the tying goal before midseason acquisition Ivan Ouano rifled in the eventual winner early in the second half to put Cebu at 34 points.

Maharlika, a weekend from defeating Mendiola FC 1991 in Imus, Cavite province, for its first win, remained at the bottom with four points. INQ

Your subscription could not be saved. Please try again.

Your subscription has been successful.

Read Next

Don’t miss out on the latest news and information.

Subscribe to INQUIRER PLUS to get access to The Philippine Daily Inquirer & other 70+ titles, share up to 5 gadgets, listen to the news, download as early as 4am & share articles on social media. Call 896 6000.

For feedback, complaints, or inquiries, contact us.

The EST Team works very carefully and the latest news reaches you.

You may also like...