Penalty replay was a joke: Bellingham
Havertz made no mistake in scoring the spot kick in the second time despite missing the first round
A controversial penalty decision. A missed first shot on him allowed Kai Havertz to take a second shot as the players entered the d-box. And that goal ultimately made the difference. Borussia Dortmund midfielder Jude Bellingham is naturally disappointed as a result. He thinks it is a joke to allow the penalty to be taken again. And midfielder Emre Chan said to the referee ‘very bad’.
Chelsea beat Borussia Dortmund 2-0 in the Champions League last 16 second leg on Tuesday night. They lost 1-0 at Dortmund in the first leg. As a result, the English club got the quarter-final ticket with a 2-1 advantage. In the first half of the day, after Rahim Sterling’s goal, Havertz scored a goal from a spot kick in the second half.
Latest news on The Daily Star Bangla Google News Channel.
When Ben Chilwell’s cross was caught by Dortmund’s Marius Wolff, the referee whistled a penalty with the help of VAR. Marius was early on his way into the D-box though. Havertz’s first shot then bounced off the right post. However, several players from both teams entered the D-box while taking the shot. Replays show that Chelsea players entered first. Havertz made no more mistakes with the second chance.
Bellingham told BT Sports after the match: ‘I didn’t watch it back, but I saw it very closely from where I was. A yard or two away. I’m not too sure. I don’t want to get into trouble. That (handball whistle) was disappointing and letting them beat again is a joke. For each such slow penalty, the players rushing into the box may have moved a yard inside. But that’s the game. They have made a decision and we have to live with it.’
On the other hand, Chan told Amazon Prime, ‘We didn’t deserve to lose, but we lost because of the referee. Allowing the penalty to be retaken like this, how is it possible? i don’t understand The refereeing was very poor today. There was a lot of arrogance in the way he spoke to us.’